Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

Castrol Power 1

Check the helmet from inside.

Our Partners

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Originally posted by pulsarcraz View Post
    Guys do we have WhatsApp group number?
    Yes we have R3 whatsapp group. PM me your whatsapp number with your location.

    Comment


    • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

      After the recall I am facing an issue where the engine kill-switch doesn't allow me to start the bike. I have to try and switch it on/off couple of times to start the bike. Anybody else facing the issue, I have just done the 2nd service?

      Comment


      • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

        Originally posted by shank92 View Post
        After the recall I am facing an issue where the engine kill-switch doesn't allow me to start the bike. I have to try and switch it on/off couple of times to start the bike. Anybody else facing the issue, I have just done the 2nd service?
        This is a problem of the kill switch relay. My friend had this issue with his newly delivered r15v2. The svc had screwed your bike too[emoji32]
        Hero Honda Splendor (June 2001- Present)
        Yamaha YZF R3 (Jan 2016 - Present)
        TVS Scooty Zest 110 (Oct 2017 - Apr 2018)
        TVS Ntorq 125 (May 2018 - Apr 2019)
        KTM Duke 125 (Apr 2019 - Dec 2019)

        Comment


        • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

          Originally posted by shank92 View Post
          After the recall I am facing an issue where the engine kill-switch doesn't allow me to start the bike. I have to try and switch it on/off couple of times to start the bike. Anybody else facing the issue, I have just done the 2nd service?
          Might be some rust due to rains ask SVC to open up and clean it, it will solve the problem I think.

          Comment


          • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

            The kill switch needs to be opened up and the contacts filed a bit. If this doesn't work, get the switch replaced under warranty.
            Quench my thirst with gasoline!

            Comment


            • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

              Does anyone here have a Paddock stand.
              Any idea from where I could get one in Bangalore for cheap?
              Please suggest.

              I tried searching the thread but search feature does not seem to work with individual threads.
              Hero Honda Splendor (June 2001- Present)
              Yamaha YZF R3 (Jan 2016 - Present)
              TVS Scooty Zest 110 (Oct 2017 - Apr 2018)
              TVS Ntorq 125 (May 2018 - Apr 2019)
              KTM Duke 125 (Apr 2019 - Dec 2019)

              Comment


              • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                Originally posted by Gollum View Post
                Does anyone here have a Paddock stand.
                Any idea from where I could get one in Bangalore for cheap?
                Please suggest.

                I tried searching the thread but search feature does not seem to work with individual threads.
                IIRC Orion Motors (technically the riding gear and accessories store on the first floor above the Yamaha showroom) had some options. Check there, not sure about cheap though.
                http://indianfightfan.blogspot.in/

                http://neilsrandomramblings.blogspot.com/

                http://neilsmotomusings.blogspot.com/

                Comment


                • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                  Originally posted by Gollum View Post
                  Does anyone here have a Paddock stand.
                  Any idea from where I could get one in Bangalore for cheap?
                  Please suggest.

                  I tried searching the thread but search feature does not seem to work with individual threads.
                  I got mine from : https://www.facebook.com/GA-Engineer...02078363388052

                  Comment


                  • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                    Originally posted by neil.jericho View Post
                    IIRC Orion Motors (technically the riding gear and accessories store on the first floor above the Yamaha showroom) had some options. Check there, not sure about cheap though.
                    Actually the store name is "Planet DSG"
                    There's a light at each end of this tunnel you shout cause you're just as far in as you'll ever be out.

                    Comment


                    • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                      Originally posted by Felicity View Post
                      Actually the store name is "Planet DSG"
                      I have a purchased a jacket from them for 7k, came with nice protection and pretty decent rain resistant material, they have pretty good quality products, but be careful of giving the right size online, its a bit tricky, for headwear n other gear.

                      Comment


                      • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                        Originally posted by Felicity View Post
                        Actually the store name is "Planet DSG"
                        They are a dealer for Planet DSG. The store's name is not Planet DSG.
                        http://indianfightfan.blogspot.in/

                        http://neilsrandomramblings.blogspot.com/

                        http://neilsmotomusings.blogspot.com/

                        Comment


                        • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                          Anyone done any Teflon coating or some other protection from scratches and fading of colour ?

                          Comment


                          • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                            Saw the worst site today, a guy riding a r3 in Teynampet signal without a damn helmet -_-

                            Comment


                            • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                              Originally posted by ArnabC View Post
                              Well done around 4080 kms for a round trip from Bangalore to Kolkata. Man this bike is awesome !! I'm too happy with the performance and the riding posture. Let me put out some of my experiences through sections:

                              Engine: Done around 6950 kms till now and the engine is getting smoother with every minute of riding. The engine is the best thing of this bike. The twin pots are really awesome. Enough power to overtake almost any vehicle. While coming back from Kolkata, there were some instances where some local and rude four wheelers were driving dangerously very near to me. So opened the throttle and the bike touched 150 kmph in no time and I got rid of those menances. I tried to maintain 100-110 almost all the time as that's the safest speed I feel on Indian highways where there's no dearth of idiots with little or no driving skills or traffic sense. And the bike responded fantastically obliging my requests all the time and still returning a modest, I would say great, 32 kmpl. And that exhaust is too good, though it's my personal view. Till 7K RPM it sounds so tame but twist the wrist and the exhaust sound gets aggressive. You'll feel like you're riding on a much bigger engine than a 300cc one.

                              Gearbox/Clutch: These things make the whole ride very enjoyable. The clutch is so smooth that you'll feel no discomfort riding the bike through heavy traffic. The fingers will not pain at all operating the clutch in heavy traffic. The gearbox, as everyone said, is very to-the-point. There'll be no miss and very sure shifting. Also, you can pull out of traffic at any gear thanks to the fantastic torque coming at mid-range.

                              Looks: It's a touchy issue and my personal take is it's really subtle but distinct. I've not seen a single person who has noticed the bike but didn't look at it twice. First everyone mistakes it as R15 and then suddenly they understands that it's something different and look back. The uniquely designed headlights are the major player here.

                              Headlights: Stock headlights are like a 100 times better than that of R15. I rode more than 1000 kms during the recent ride at night and never did I feel at any point of time that I need to stop due to lack of light spread. On good highways, the headlights, on high beam, extend approx upto 100-120 ft, good for going at 100-110 kmph. Even the low beam has a good spread and the beam lightens up the central part and not like R15 where only one side gets illuminated. I'm too happy with the stock lights and am now more confident about night riding.

                              Brakes: A lot has been said about the brakes and their aggression. What I felt is the brakes are real good if you're using for touring purpose. I don't know how it'll do at tracks but I'm super satisfied with the brakes. Had some sudden braking moments and I never felt out of confidence. The brakes do stop the bike in a linear fashion and sure footedly without any issues and instil confidence. One example, was doing the Tirupati to B'lore section while returning. It was already dark as it was around 9:30pm. Was going happily as I was going gaga over the light spread and was doing around 100-105 kmph. Suddenly saw a big speed breaker. Thought I'm gonna fly now. Applied the brakes and the bike reduced the speed drastically to a very safe speed of 20-25 kmph. Many sudden potholes came afterwards and nowhere I ran over them as I was able to reduce the speed through the brakes.

                              Tires: Again a subject of debate but I felt the tires are good for touring. I did try some leaning with my saddle bag behind, but the tires held up really good. Maybe not good for tracks but for touring they're absolutely fine. You don't need to go for other options if you're into touring only with some interest in cornering/leaning.

                              Seating Posture: Another awesome feature of R3. I did some long tours on my R15V2 and R3 is like a boon for me. I did Kolkata-B'lore in 2 days, first day rode for around 1100 kms till Rajahmundhry and next day the remaining 870 kms to B'lore and I'm still quite OK to go to office the very next day. With my R15V2 it would have been impossible both to attend office and to do Kolkata-B'lore in two days only. So be assured you'll not be tired.

                              Seats: Could have been more comfy but then I'm not complaining. If you're riding your bike for 27-28 hours you can't/shouldn't complain about the comfort. Pillion seat is definitely much more comfortable than R15V2. I did Goa also early this month with a pillion and she never complained about the seats. Actually, before this ride she never went out for long rides, and she didn't complain after the long 1450 kms round trip and that too 400 kms in torrential rains, where sitting actually hurts a lot.

                              RVMs: Maybe the weakest link in this whole package. RVMs are tinted, which is good as no high beam glare, but they're too small to show you the traffic behind. I think Yamaha should seriously consider this.

                              Also, for me, I hope that Yamaha should also change the rear brake pedal which doesn't go with the bike well.

                              Mileage: Now coming to one of the most 'kitna deti hain' wala question. In city, I hardly got above 24-25 kmpl no matter how well I ride. In the highways, in between 95-115 kmph, sixth gear, I got around 32 kmpl with a tank range close to 360 kms. Though I didn't check the tank range in particular as I was filling as soon it hit the single bar mark but still it's not before 320 kms.

                              So, this has been my brief overview on the R3 till now. Ride it to understand it. I'm sure it'll bring a wide grin to you. And yes, it is less powered than RC390 but then doing 1950 kms with a RC390 will not be this comfortable I guess. Just a thought, think over it !!
                              Could you please share updates as regards servicing cost including any AMC expenditure, spares replaced etc.

                              Comment


                              • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                                Originally posted by neil.jericho View Post
                                They are a dealer for Planet DSG. The store's name is not Planet DSG.
                                All Yamaha Showrooms are of dealers but that doesn't stop us from reffering it has "Yamaha Showroom". FYI go to Planet DSG website and you get the above given address.So in short it's a Planet DSG store.
                                There's a light at each end of this tunnel you shout cause you're just as far in as you'll ever be out.

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X