Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

Castrol Power 1

Always wear a helmet.

Our Partners

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Originally posted by pulsarcraz View Post
    Good pointers! The only difficulty is keeping the bike upright and at the same time check the oil-levels all by yourselve (If you are alone i.e).
    That's why you should do it before signing the job card and ask one of those mech to hold your bike.
    Got a $5 head? Get a $5 helmet.
    Because everyone who passes, isn't a martyr!

    Bullet Service Guide CBR 250R Parts Manual Fz16 service manual - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1-...VFQmJzakk/view
    Hero Moto Corp Bikes' Parts RE STD 350 Wiring Diagram (CI) Service Manual - Classic 350/500
    ZMR parts - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-U...it?usp=sharing
    P200NS Spares' prices - https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...taGd5R2c#gid=0

    Comment


    • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

      So does anyone know of a good service center here in Bangalore for the R3??

      Originally posted by Chandan92 View Post
      SVC work is definitely shoddy, but always check coolant, engine oil level before taking vehicle. It's basic things you can check nothing advanced just keep the bike straight and check both engine oil and coolant level.
      I'll go home today and look up some videos on youtube. I bet there are many.
      Originally posted by dnewguy View Post
      Hi

      Glad atleast he called someone for help when he was not able to proceed.
      I hate mechanics who do a half a** job of a service and handover our dear bikes.
      most of us trust our servicing guys and value their opinion only to later find out that they had been screwing our rides all along.
      All the more heart burn with expensive dream bikes.
      Wish it was easy to service our bikes on our own especially for those like me with not so deep pockets.

      Cheers.
      I'm gonna learn to do this myself from now on.


      Originally posted by dineshaugustin View Post
      This reminds me an incident which happened to my friend. When he took the delivery of his Hunk, the guys there forgot to put engine oil.
      My friend didnt check it ( he dont know anything about motorcycle) and he left the showroom. after few kms some burning smell started to come and then he saw the smokes coming from the engine. after that the engine got seized. This happen just after he took the delivery.
      He had lot of fight and finally he got replaced the engine ( i told him he should have asked for new bike )

      Guess we need to be more careful even when small things are concerned.
      Yea, good that it was only coolant and not the engine oil like your friend's case.
      Hero Honda Splendor (June 2001- Present)
      Yamaha YZF R3 (Jan 2016 - Present)
      TVS Scooty Zest 110 (Oct 2017 - Apr 2018)
      TVS Ntorq 125 (May 2018 - Apr 2019)
      KTM Duke 125 (Apr 2019 - Dec 2019)

      Comment


      • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

        Originally posted by Divya Sharan View Post
        That's why you should do it before signing the job card and ask one of those mech to hold your bike.
        Sounds like a plan

        Originally posted by Gollum View Post
        So does anyone know of a good service center here in Bangalore for the R3??
        Try Perfect Riders - Jayanagar.

        Comment


        • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

          Originally posted by Gollum View Post
          So does anyone know of a good service center here in Bangalore for the R3??.

          You can go to PACER YAMAHA Hebbal. They are very good in servicing big bikes . I did my recall service there.
          They finished the job in 30 minutes in a clean systematic way
          Last edited by royaldesigner; 07-18-2016, 07:56 PM.
          Ride Safe! Journey is more important than destination

          StormRyder!!!

          Comment


          • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

            Originally posted by royaldesigner View Post
            You can go to PACER YAMAHA Hebbal. They are very good in servicing big bikes . I did my recall service there.
            They finished the job in 30 minutes in a clen systematic way
            I guess I will be going there from now, As it is the second closest service center to me (of sorts)
            Hero Honda Splendor (June 2001- Present)
            Yamaha YZF R3 (Jan 2016 - Present)
            TVS Scooty Zest 110 (Oct 2017 - Apr 2018)
            TVS Ntorq 125 (May 2018 - Apr 2019)
            KTM Duke 125 (Apr 2019 - Dec 2019)

            Comment


            • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

              To all the Bangalore peeps here,Go to "Bangalore Wheels" Malleswaram for R3 services as they are the most trusted and professional Yamaha service center in bangalore.Also this guys were the few chosen dealers by Yamaha itself to sell thier bikes in early days of release.Actually this guys have sold more R3 in bangalore than any other showrooms in bangalore.So give it a try.
              There's a light at each end of this tunnel you shout cause you're just as far in as you'll ever be out.

              Comment


              • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                I do a bit of videos while on me new bike. Below is one of them
                Please like and subscribe
                Hero Honda Splendor (June 2001- Present)
                Yamaha YZF R3 (Jan 2016 - Present)
                TVS Scooty Zest 110 (Oct 2017 - Apr 2018)
                TVS Ntorq 125 (May 2018 - Apr 2019)
                KTM Duke 125 (Apr 2019 - Dec 2019)

                Comment


                • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                  Hey Guys, Need some help/tips/suggestions.

                  1. Regarding Break-in:
                  I have completed around 520km in just about 2 weeks. Mostly varying the gear-speed and gear-rpm ratio. All of it is within city limits and not exceeding 6K rpm at any point. Even at ~5K rpm I went to triple digits and had to slow down.

                  Is it good enough? How to utilize higher rev band in lower gears in city.? Do I need to go for a highway run ? .Sadly my office work didn't allowed to do so yet I heard people say to be in all possible rev band in order to set the Piston Rings(No idea what that is!) properly.

                  2. When during engine breaking i.e, coming from higher to lower gear, I noticed a rattling sound. Again I'm not sure where exactly it is coming from. When revving in Idle, it doesn't make that sound and is super smooth. Is this common for twin-cylinders?

                  3. My engine is super bassy in lower gears. (Not an issue though, well, I'd like to think so )

                  Yes, checked all my oil-levels (Engine, Coolant etc). They are upto the mark. But the Engine temp gauge indicates 3 bars just after few mins of ride and stay put.

                  Are all these common for you guys as well? Or am I just over thinking.

                  Comment


                  • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                    Originally posted by pulsarcraz View Post
                    Hey Guys, Need some help/tips/suggestions.

                    1. Regarding Break-in:
                    I have completed around 520km in just about 2 weeks. Mostly varying the gear-speed and gear-rpm ratio. All of it is within city limits and not exceeding 6K rpm at any point. Even at ~5K rpm I went to triple digits and had to slow down.

                    Is it good enough? How to utilize higher rev band in lower gears in city.? Do I need to go for a highway run ? .Sadly my office work didn't allowed to do so yet I heard people say to be in all possible rev band in order to set the Piston Rings(No idea what that is!) properly.

                    2. When during engine breaking i.e, coming from higher to lower gear, I noticed a rattling sound. Again I'm not sure where exactly it is coming from. When revving in Idle, it doesn't make that sound and is super smooth. Is this common for twin-cylinders?

                    3. My engine is super bassy in lower gears. (Not an issue though, well, I'd like to think so )

                    Yes, checked all my oil-levels (Engine, Coolant etc). They are upto the mark. But the Engine temp gauge indicates 3 bars just after few mins of ride and stay put.

                    Are all these common for you guys as well? Or am I just over thinking.
                    1: Do a variation, in the weekend take it to highway (with riding gear) and try to reach the 9k RPM for a short while after the engine has been running for say 20 minutes.
                    I could never do this and I was just babysitting my bike's engine by keeping it below 6k rpm before 1st service. Realized later that I could go higher.

                    2: I don't know about the rattling. Never heard it. Get it checked I would say.

                    3: all R3 engines are like that. remove the helmet and it sounds metallic too.
                    Engine temp at 3 bars is ok. Mine takes about 3-4 minutes to reach there. most people leave the bike at idle ON to get those bars upto 3 and then go forward. It should always be at 3 or lesser. Once it reached 3, it will not go down at any time.
                    Hero Honda Splendor (June 2001- Present)
                    Yamaha YZF R3 (Jan 2016 - Present)
                    TVS Scooty Zest 110 (Oct 2017 - Apr 2018)
                    TVS Ntorq 125 (May 2018 - Apr 2019)
                    KTM Duke 125 (Apr 2019 - Dec 2019)

                    Comment


                    • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                      Originally posted by Gollum View Post
                      1: Do a variation, in the weekend take it to highway (with riding gear) and try to reach the 9k RPM for a short while after the engine has been running for say 20 minutes...
                      Thank you very much for the reply. Yes, for #3 I was thinking of getting it checked in the showroom where I bought.

                      Comment


                      • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                        Hi
                        when i checked on the website my bike was not listed in the recalled bikes, but then i got a letter for the recall fix, go it Done on sunday the bike feels a little smooth now.
                        As I gaze upon your beauty, I think to myself, "never have I seen an angel fly so low".

                        Yamaha RX100, Yamaha RD350, Bajaj Pulsar 150, Honda Unicorn, Yamaha FZ16, Suzuki Gs150r, Honda Dazzler, Suzuki Gixxer, Benelli TNT 300, Yamaha R3

                        Comment


                        • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                          I got it done today and felt no difference. 😁 But the bigger ball bearings seem a bit more robust
                          Quench my thirst with gasoline!

                          Comment


                          • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                            Getting my recall done at Perfect Riders SVC as we speak. Will update after its done.

                            Ok its done.Couple of things.
                            1. Gear shifting is a little bit smooth.
                            2. For the first time, the temp gauge waa displaying 4 bars couple of times. And the engine was a lot more hot than usual, I could feel that underneath.
                            What could be the reason for this?
                            Last edited by pulsarcraz; 07-23-2016, 03:55 PM.

                            Comment


                            • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                              Hey guys..
                              I'm planning to buy YZF-R3.
                              Please let me know few of the problems faced by the owners of this bike other than what's mentioned on internet.

                              Comment


                              • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                                Guys, can anyone tell me how to get my tyre replaced under warranty.


                                Hero Honda Splendor (June 2001- Present)
                                Yamaha YZF R3 (Jan 2016 - Present)
                                TVS Scooty Zest 110 (Oct 2017 - Apr 2018)
                                TVS Ntorq 125 (May 2018 - Apr 2019)
                                KTM Duke 125 (Apr 2019 - Dec 2019)

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X