Since '02 xBhp is different things to different people. From a close knit national community of bikers to India's only motorcycling lifestyle magazine and a place to make like-minded biker friends. Join us

Castrol Power 1

Careful with that leaking water tanker ahead.

Our Partners

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

    Originally posted by ArnabC View Post
    Both Pacer Hebbal, Bangalore Wheels are better. For Pacer Gebbal give the bike to Vinod, for Bangalore Wheels give the bike to Sampath.

    I will recommend change of oil, oil filter and air filter. Also, if you want, at second service i.e after 5K kms, you can use other oils than Yamalube but again depends on your choice.
    Hi Arnab,

    I read your 18k km ownership review. Very detailed and well written. I would like to know which showroom you purchased your R3 from and also where you get it serviced.
    Don't matter what it is: Touring; Racing; Commuting. All I know is, I belong on the saddle.

    Rides : Honda CB Twister(Feb 2011 - Present) | TVS Apache RTR 180 ABS(Sept 2012 - May 2016) | Honda CBR250R C-ABS Repsol(March 2017 - Present)

    Break-in tension? Read this.

    Love camping and riding? Google - On Rustic Routes.

    Comment


    • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

      Originally posted by madhav766 View Post
      Hi Arnab,

      I read your 18k km ownership review. Very detailed and well written. I would like to know which showroom you purchased your R3 from and also where you get it serviced.
      I purchased it from Pacer Yamaha, Hebbal and service my R3 there only. No complaints regarding service till date.
      Yamaha YZF R15 V 2.0 (Oct, 2012 - Present)
      Yamaha YZF R3 (Sep, 2015 - Present)

      My Review of Yamaha R3 at 100K ODO

      Ride a motorcycle if you want to live free, but above all ride it safe and make others' lives safe.

      Comment


      • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

        Originally posted by ArnabC View Post
        First of all thanks for pointing out this which I forgot to mention. The said 98% is a calculation coming from Yamaha, might be on a theoretical basis. So I said 98% which on real world, after commencing the fluid test, may come down to maximum 90% and maybe, and mostly for sure, not less than that. You can check the same with YFS Kolkata which now is the only factory shop and houses mechanics trained directly by Yamaha. The SVC head there and the SBK mechanic told the same to me did Nitin, who was once the SVC head for Yamaha in Western India.

        If you see the fins, those are very thin and being so doesn't allow them to be bent uniformly, so air always passes through, yes the air flow will be disrupted for sure which is the effieciency will come down but not to a huge extent. A leak will happen only when a stone or anything rupture the coolant pipes within the radiator which will be an unfortunate incident, once a small bird did the same to my friend's CB1000. So, as you said, a radiator guard or mudflap is always welcome.
        With all fins bent and air flow disrupted, there is no way the radiator is going to be 90% efficient. It might be just about ok if one is cruising around but definitely not ok for city traffic where the heat will be more and the fan needs to suck or push (depending on what the r3's fan does) air thru the fins.
        I've had factory mechanics tell me that a disc rotor cannot be 'bent' unless there is an accident or blunt force applied to it.. them not knowing a term called warping is another story.
        So take these kind of 'tips and advises' with a pinch of salt.

        For the guy with just a couple of bent fins, its no big issue and if possible take something like a plastic scale/ruler and sit down and try to straighten out the fins gently or get hold of a fin comb. During pressure wash just make sure the nozzle is a good 3-4feet away from radiator while spraying it down.. and spraying the radiator with some soapy solution first and letting it sit for a few minutes does miracles in removing dead bugs and dirt.

        Comment


        • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

          Originally posted by s1d View Post
          With all fins bent and air flow disrupted, there is no way the radiator is going to be 90% efficient. It might be just about ok if one is cruising around but definitely not ok for city traffic where the heat will be more and the fan needs to suck or push (depending on what the r3's fan does) air thru the fins.
          I've had factory mechanics tell me that a disc rotor cannot be 'bent' unless there is an accident or blunt force applied to it.. them not knowing a term called warping is another story.
          So take these kind of 'tips and advises' with a pinch of salt.

          For the guy with just a couple of bent fins, its no big issue and if possible take something like a plastic scale/ruler and sit down and try to straighten out the fins gently or get hold of a fin comb. During pressure wash just make sure the nozzle is a good 3-4feet away from radiator while spraying it down.. and spraying the radiator with some soapy solution first and letting it sit for a few minutes does miracles in removing dead bugs and dirt.
          I would've taken these advises with a pinch of salt if it's not coming from Nitin. Any ways, I'm not getting into an argument here. I've made my point and my experience with R15 radiator for over 70K kms has been well with what I've learnt from him. But as you said, it's always good to keep the radiator fins as much straight as possible. on the other hand, I've seen that radiator fins, even if completely overlooked, can bend but not that much which will seriously jeopardise the functionality.

          @All, just keep the pressure wash nozzle as far as possible from the radiator. Also try to use a radiator guard.

          Till then, keep munching miles.
          Yamaha YZF R15 V 2.0 (Oct, 2012 - Present)
          Yamaha YZF R3 (Sep, 2015 - Present)

          My Review of Yamaha R3 at 100K ODO

          Ride a motorcycle if you want to live free, but above all ride it safe and make others' lives safe.

          Comment


          • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

            Originally posted by ArnabC View Post
            I would've taken these advises with a pinch of salt if it's not coming from Nitin. Any ways, I'm not getting into an argument here. I've made my point and my experience with R15 radiator for over 70K kms has been well with what I've learnt from him. But as you said, it's always good to keep the radiator fins as much straight as possible. on the other hand, I've seen that radiator fins, even if completely overlooked, can bend but not that much which will seriously jeopardise the functionality.

            @All, just keep the pressure wash nozzle as far as possible from the radiator. Also try to use a radiator guard.

            Till then, keep munching miles.
            I only applied the computer CPU heatsink logic to the radiator as they both are just devices used to cool down another part.

            As suggested I tried to use a very thin screw driver to straighten the fins but ended up making things worse.
            This is where I stopped.

            With regards to pressure wash nozzle, I have no control over it if the service center guys decide to blast the radiator as if its made of vibranium.
            Hero Honda Splendor (June 2001- Present)
            Yamaha YZF R3 (Jan 2016 - Present)
            TVS Scooty Zest 110 (Oct 2017 - Apr 2018)
            TVS Ntorq 125 (May 2018 - Apr 2019)
            KTM Duke 125 (Apr 2019 - Dec 2019)

            Comment


            • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

              Originally posted by Gollum View Post
              I only applied the computer CPU heatsink logic to the radiator as they both are just devices used to cool down another part.

              As suggested I tried to use a very thin screw driver to straighten the fins but ended up making things worse.
              This is where I stopped.

              With regards to pressure wash nozzle, I have no control over it if the service center guys decide to blast the radiator as if its made of vibranium.
              Bro, you got to straighten them out from edge to edge. Watch this video:



              I was able to straighten the bent fins on my CBR by following the same method!
              Thanks to @Divya Sharan for sharing the video
              Last edited by Divya Sharan; 05-26-2016, 11:10 AM. Reason: Formatting the post with [video] tags.

              Comment


              • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                Originally posted by Gollum View Post
                I only applied the computer CPU heatsink logic to the radiator as they both are just devices used to cool down another part.

                As suggested I tried to use a very thin screw driver to straighten the fins but ended up making things worse.
                This is where I stopped.

                With regards to pressure wash nozzle, I have no control over it if the service center guys decide to blast the radiator as if its made of vibranium.
                I remember using this brush that comes with metal bristles. Use it along the horizontal lines of the fins and it should straighten significantly, similar to how its done on Air conditoner fins.

                Comment


                • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                  Originally posted by s1d View Post
                  ................

                  First you should take this thought that 'imported is better' out of your mind.
                  Without understanding the root cause, its not right to assume an 'imported' spare will the issue (and i assume most spares are in fact imported for the r3 plus its a ckd).
                  It's not like he used an aftermarket bearing or something.. it was a stock bike that prematurely had a failure. Going by the design and how that clutch is setup, i think it might just be that the bearing is not up to the mark. A possible fix might be an improved bearing.
                  Some Indonesian owners have used a similar bearing but from SKF. Only time will tell if it will hold up and not fail prematurely.

                  Hi,

                  my thought was based on the fact that the indian ktm bikes and those for the whole world have separate production lines and the end product also differs a lot in terms of quality.
                  what happened with the stock bike can't be changed but as and when we get a replacement may be spares available in other countries trumps those manufactured here for cost cutting. of course i'm not asking to blindly follow it but its a hypothesis.


                  cheers.
                  You Start Your Life with a Full Pot of Luck and an Empty Pot of Experience, the Object is to Fill the Pot of Experience Before you Empty the Pot of Luck.....!!

                  Comment


                  • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                    Originally posted by Gollum View Post
                    I only applied the computer CPU heatsink logic to the radiator as they both are just devices used to cool down another part.

                    As suggested I tried to use a very thin screw driver to straighten the fins but ended up making things worse.
                    This is where I stopped.

                    With regards to pressure wash nozzle, I have no control over it if the service center guys decide to blast the radiator as if its made of vibranium.
                    Use plastic scale. It'll be better I guess.

                    Regarding the pressure wash thing, just tell them not to use it near the radiator. My SVC, Pacer Hebbal, listens to me and acts accordingly. Though many fins are bent but it doesn't matter as it hasn't affected the cooling procedure at all. If you're using somewhere other, stand before them and remind them repeatedly. That'll do I guess.
                    Yamaha YZF R15 V 2.0 (Oct, 2012 - Present)
                    Yamaha YZF R3 (Sep, 2015 - Present)

                    My Review of Yamaha R3 at 100K ODO

                    Ride a motorcycle if you want to live free, but above all ride it safe and make others' lives safe.

                    Comment


                    • Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                      Was wondering if anyone in Bangalore has installed any custom Exhaust on their R3.

                      Comment


                      • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                        Originally posted by dnewguy View Post
                        Hi,

                        my thought was based on the fact that the indian ktm bikes and those for the whole world have separate production lines and the end product also differs a lot in terms of quality.
                        what happened with the stock bike can't be changed but as and when we get a replacement may be spares available in other countries trumps those manufactured here for cost cutting. of course i'm not asking to blindly follow it but its a hypothesis.
                        have you seen different production lines or differences in quality ?
                        the reason why there is a different production line is because imported models have minor changes to meet the corresponding local regulations. For example, the US doesn't get led indicators, the ecu map's are different to suit different emission/fuel standards, EU versions have an evap canister to meet emission regulations, some also have plastic reflectors (like on the scooty's front forks) etc..
                        most changes are minor.. the base engine and mechanical stuff are ditto. i have a friend whose bought a 390 in the UK, he has seen a 390's crankcase split open and it does say 'bajaj' on the inside.
                        why would overseas bikes have fan failures similar to desi dukes.. because same fan is used. though quality has improved over the years
                        so coming back to the fact that 'imported' is better.. nah not in all cases. the reason one pays a 'premium' for a r3 in India is the same as the reason one pays a premium for a ktm 390 in UK.. TAXES !
                        And do you think iphone is a cheap phone/bad quality because its made in china ? A lot of things come down to design and quality specifications mentioned by the manufacturer.
                        And I don't think spares are made in India for the r3 either.. the oil filter was imported and i guess most engine parts will also be imported.. if that makes you happy
                        Last edited by s1d; 05-26-2016, 10:47 PM.

                        Comment


                        • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                          So, coming to the roots of the issue, we do have problem on our hands. This is how the chopped bearing looks like when the clutch casing of R3 has been removed.



                          Drag to 1:17 to 1:24 to have a look at the bearing, that's mince meat. Definitely not a good sign that can lock the clutch altogether and lock the wheels.

                          Interestingly enough, there is a poll that has been conducted either, on the bearing failure probability, here is a snapshot of it.

                          Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-05-26_2240.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	25.3 KB
ID:	1936673

                          Cheers!
                          VJ
                          Once upon a time, a guy asked a girl 'Will you marry me?'
                          The girl said, 'NO!'


                          And the guy lived happily ever after and rode motorcycles and watched sport on a big screen TV, went fishing and surfing, and played golf a lot, and drank beer and scotch and had tons of money in the bank and left the toilet seat up and farted whenever he wanted.


                          THE END

                          Comment


                          • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                            Originally posted by sanjaynk15 View Post
                            Bro, you got to straighten them out from edge to edge. Watch this video:



                            I was able to straighten the bent fins on my CBR by following the same method!
                            Thanks to @Divya Sharan for sharing the video
                            I checked the video. Didn't help at all
                            Looking at this video itself I tried it from open end to closed end.
                            These are more like the fins of an AC.
                            Hero Honda Splendor (June 2001- Present)
                            Yamaha YZF R3 (Jan 2016 - Present)
                            TVS Scooty Zest 110 (Oct 2017 - Apr 2018)
                            TVS Ntorq 125 (May 2018 - Apr 2019)
                            KTM Duke 125 (Apr 2019 - Dec 2019)

                            Comment


                            • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                              Originally posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post
                              So, coming to the roots of the issue......
                              Definitely not a good sign that can lock the clutch altogether and lock the wheels.
                              This is scary as hell to hear, let alone to feel the lockup of your rear wheels! I have asked someone i know from Yamaha to give me answer. Will revert back once i get information. That bearing is toast!

                              Comment


                              • Re: Yamaha YZF R3 Owners Reviews and Experiences

                                Originally posted by B7ACKTHORN View Post
                                So, coming to the roots of the issue, we do have problem on our hands. This is how the chopped bearing looks like when the clutch casing of R3 has been removed.



                                Drag to 1:17 to 1:24 to have a look at the bearing, that's mince meat. Definitely not a good sign that can lock the clutch altogether and lock the wheels.

                                Interestingly enough, there is a poll that has been conducted either, on the bearing failure probability, here is a snapshot of it.

                                [ATTACH]212327[/ATTACH]

                                Cheers!
                                VJ
                                There are just 3 failed bikes out of all the bikes sold.
                                As I gaze upon your beauty, I think to myself, "never have I seen an angel fly so low".

                                Yamaha RX100, Yamaha RD350, Bajaj Pulsar 150, Honda Unicorn, Yamaha FZ16, Suzuki Gs150r, Honda Dazzler, Suzuki Gixxer, Benelli TNT 300, Yamaha R3

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X